SC Library Receives Nation's Best National Medal

Congratulations to the Richland Library (Columbia, SC) for receiving this prestigious award.

The Institute of Museum and Library Services recently announced the 10 recipients of the 2017 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation's highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community. For 23 years, the award has celebrated institutions that respond to societal needs in innovative ways, making a difference for individuals, families, and their communities. The award will be presented at an event in Washington, D.C., this summer. 

The 2017 winners of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service demonstrate impactful programs and services that exceed the expected levels of community outreach and are known as catalysts for community change. They were selected from 30 finalists across the country nominated for the honor.

The 2017 National Medal recipients are:

  • Alaska Department of Education and Early Development (Alaska State Museums) (Juneau, Alaska)
  • Aspen Art Museum (Aspen, Colorado)
  • Cedar Rapids Public Library (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
  • Illinois Holocaust Museum & Education Center (Skokie, Illinois)
  • Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum (Wausau, Wisconsin)
  • Long Beach Public Library (Long Beach, California)
  • Peralta Hacienda Historical Park (Oakland, California)
  • Richland Library (Columbia, South Carolina)
  • University of Minnesota Libraries (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
  • Waterville Public Library (Waterville, Maine)

"We are proud to honor these 10 institutions with this year's National Medal for Museum and Library Service," said Dr. Kathryn K. Matthew, director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services. "These institutions play a critical role as community catalysts and provide vital resources that drive economic development, foster community well-being, and spark neighborhood revitalization. We are proud of all 10 museums and libraries and celebrate their ongoing commitment to their communities."  

After the ceremony, StoryCorps--a national nonprofit dedicated to recording, preserving, and sharing the stories of Americans-will visit each recipient to document stories from the community.

The next deadline for nominating a museum or library is October 2, 2017. Learn more about the National Medal at  

Upcoming Event

Speaker at the Center event with Charlie Meshaw

Speaker at the Center

Join the South Carolina State Library and the SC Center for the Book for our next Speaker at the Center Author Talk featuring Charlie Mewshaw, author of Arcane Carolinas:  Folklore, Urban Legends, and Tales of Modern Weird from the Carolinas and co-host of the Arcane Carolinas Podcast.